Introducing the 2021 OYO Board of Directors, including the OYO President

Congratulations to all 2021 OYO Board Members! On Tuesday, September 8, 2020, the current OYO Board elected a new slate of board members to help continue serve the OYO families in 2021 and beyond. This board of 40+ volunteers will work tirelessly to uphold The OYO Way and continue to grow our program to serve more than 1600 ballplayers and 1000 families each year. These board members will assume their official roles on November 1, 2020.


Each and every family at OYO has their reasons for choosing OYO as their place for baseball and softball. Over the years, we’ve learned families choose — and return to — OYO for many reasons, ranging from our diversity to our focus on equality, from the commitment to player development to game day experiences, from the quantity of teams to the quality of coaching, from the family atmosphere to the park’s proximity, from the concession stand service to the quality of umpiring, and from our Challenger program to rec league to multi-level travel program.

Over the past 46 years, OYO has been blessed with some amazing OYO board volunteers, who collaborate to form dedicated and dutiful board of director groups led by some impressive and selfless OYO Presidents. Looking ahead to 2021, we encourage each and every OYO family to take the time to meet our next OYO President, Brittany Anderson. If you’ve met or collaborated with Brittany before, then you’ve experienced firsthand her ability to craft a vision, rally others around an important cause, execute the finest of details and not only achieve — but also exceed — all expectations and goals. And, if you have not met her, then we are confident you will before her time as OYO President expires and understand why OYO is rallying around her engaging personality, people-friendly demeanor and results-focused approach.


Earlier this year, the OYO Executive Board began to contemplate about the next generation of OYO board members. With a focus on delivering a compelling, productive and memorable experience for each and every ballplayer and family, we discussed the characteristics, skills and traits needed in this capacity to continue OYO’s trajectory of growth and development. When we started identifying who could provide the leadership and vision necessary, we collectively identfied the same tireless volunteer — Brittany Anderson. As you will soon discover, Brittany will execute with grace, lead with humility, plan with precision, motivate with compassion and listen with clarity.


An Indianapolis native and Lawrence Central graduate, where she played varsity softball, Brittany has been a baseball and softball coach at OYO since 2017. She has a wonderful husband, Kevin Anderson, and three children with diplomacy well beyond their years — including two who play rec ball and rec travel baseball and softball at OYO. She has served on the OYO Board for the past three years, including roles of Junior Rookie Commissioner and Vice President of Travel. In both roles, she spearheaded significant growth in those divisions by increasing Junior Rookie participation by nearly 33% year over year and more than doubled our full-time travel participation for 2021 (and achieving the second highest number of FTT players at OYO ever in a single season). While those numbers are impressive in and of itself, just by looking at the retention of coaches, the roster similarities year over year and the overall satisfaction of our travel families, you have witnessed Brittany’s impact first hand.


Through her steady leadership, guidance and dedication, Brittany’s visible presence will uphold the values and ideals of our rec league and travel programs while ensuring full compliance with our policies and memories for all. Most notably, Brittany’s impact has been felt throughout our 2020 Fall Ball season, as we achieved and maintained substantial participation while balancing COVID-19 challenges and protocols. Thank you to Brittany Anderson for her willingness to embrace the call for leadership and accepting the duties of serving as OYO President. The OYO Board of Directors is ready to follow Brittany’s leadership to meet the needs of a league that consists of two Challenger teams, 800+ spring season players, 600+ fall ball players, 100+ full-time travel players, multiple travel tournaments, an amazing umpire crew, a dedicated concession stand staff, awesome fans and spectators and countless volunteers.



President* Brittany Anderson
Executive Vice President* Randy Working
1st Vice President* Justin Sturm
2nd Vice President* Mario Covarrubias
Vice President of Game Day Operations* Michael DeSanto
Vice President of Travel Baseball* Scott Maskel
Vice President of Travel Softball* Curtis Dillman
Treasurer* Karen Grese
Secretary* Danae Horban
Equipment Chairperson Dennis Lewton
Grounds Co-Chairperson Aaron Koehler
Grounds Co-Chairperson Mark Anderson
Grounds Co-Chairperson Josh Ward
Grounds Co-Chairperson Trent Shaffer
Grounds Co-Chairperson Brett Williams
Public Relations Chairperson Nicolle Jordan
Registration Chairperson Kristen Sherman
Rules & Training Chairperson Brandon Booher
Travel Baseball Commissioner Johnny Goldfinger
Travel Baseball Tournaments Larry Stone
Travel Baseball Training and Development Josh Pearson
Travel Baseball Marketing Bryan Lord
Travel Softball Commissioner [open]
Travel Softball Tournaments [open]
Travel Softball Training and Development Chris Rawlins
Travel Softball Marketing Keshia Wilson
Umpires Training Chairperson Andre Beaver
Umpires Scheduling Chairperson Francis Ampil
Ways & Means Co-Chairperson Brittany Anderson
Ways & Means Co-Chairperson Michael DeSanto
Team Parent Chairperson Brandi Beard
Uniforms Chairperson Kristina Snider
Scheduling Chairperson Cherisse Anderson
Marketing Chairperson Michael DeSanto
Survey Chairperson Kendrick James
Safety Chairperson Brent Kuhn
Challenger Commissioner Dale Dye
Tee Ball Commissioner Nytasha Ruiz
Junior Rookie Commissioner Mike Hunneman
Rookie Commissioner Mark Brown
Minor Commissioner Robert Rodriguez
Super Major Commissioner Matt Welp
Junior | Senior Baseball Commissioner Jen Wilkinson
8U Softball Commissioner Stefanie Christensen
10U Softball Commissioner Keshia Wilson
12U Softball Commissioner Kenny Murphy
14U/16U Softball Commissioner Aaron Harding
Co-Ed Softball Commissioner Danae Horban

* denotes OYO Executive Board Member serving term through October 31, 2022